Harvard Physics Nobel Laureates

Percy W. Bridgman 1946 Percy W. Bridgman
"For the invention of an apparatus to produce extremely high pressures, and for the discoveries he made therewith in the field of high pressure physics"
Nicolaas Bloembergen 1981 Nicolaas Bloembergen
"For contribution to the development of laser spectroscopy"
Edward Mills Purcell 1952 Edward Mills Purcell
"For development of new methods for nuclear magnetic precision measurements and discoveries in connection therewith"
Carlo Rubbia 1984 Carlo Rubbia
"For decisive contributions to the large project that led to the discovery of the W and Z bosons"
Julian Schwinger 1965 Julian Schwinger
"For fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics, with deep-ploughing consequences for the physics of elementary particles"
Norman Ramsey 1989 Norman F. Ramsey
"For the invention of the separated oscillatory fields method and its use in the hydrogen maser and other atomic clocks"
John Hasbrouck van Vleck 1977 John Hasbrouck van Vleck
"For fundamental theoretical investigations of the electronic structure of magnetic and disordered systems"
Roy J. Glauber 2005 Roy J. Glauber
"For his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence"
Sheldon Glashow
Steven Weinberg
1979 Sheldon L. Glashow and Steven Weinberg
"For contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including, inter alia, the prediction of the weak neutral current"

 back to About the Department