Two Professors Win the Physics Frontiers Prize

December 13, 2013

Professors Andrew Strominger and Cumrun Vafa have been awarded  the Physics Frontiers Prize by the Fundamental Physics Prize Committee for their "numerous deep and groundbreaking contributions to quantum field theory, quantum gravity, string theory and geometry. Their joint statistical derivation of the Bekenstein-Hawking area-entropy relation unified the laws of thermodynamics with the laws of black hole dynamics and revealed the holographic nature of quantum spacetime". (Read more.)