Harvard Physics Graduate Students Win National Awards

April 6, 2015

Clockwise from top left: Sabrina Pasterski (photo by P. Mitra), Alexandra Thomson, Elana Urbach, Julia Steinberg, Emma Rosenfeld, Ellen Klein.

Physics graduate students Ellen Klein, Sabrina Pasterski, Emma Rosenfeld, Julia Steinberg, and Elana Urbach are this year's Harvard recipients of National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowships Program. The Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

Sabrina Pasterski also won the Hertz Foundation Fellowship, which funds graduate education "for leaders in the fields of applied physical, biological and engineering sciences and encourages its awardees to pursue science for the public good".

Alexandra Thomson won a Fellowships from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

Congratulations, Ellen, Sabrina, Emma, Julia, Elana, and Alexandra!