Harvard Physics Grads Win NDSEG and Merit Awards

April 21, 2015
Tomo Lazovich, Ruffin Evans, and Aaron Kabcenell

Left to right: Tomo Lazovich, Ruffin Evans, and Aaron Kabcenell.

Aaron Kabcenell was awarded the The National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship by the Department of Defence (DoD). NDSEG Fellowships are intended for students at or near the beginning of their doctoral studies in science or engineering. The DoD offers these fellowships to individuals who have demonstrated the ability and special aptitude for advanced training in science and engineering.

Ruffin Evans and Tomo Lazovich were both awarded a Merit Fellowship by the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. The Harvard Merit/Term Time Research Awards are available to outstanding GSAS students in all fields, including GSAS departments in the natural sciences. These fellowships are normally to be held in the fourth or fifth year, or earlier, and are for the purpose of allowing the students to devote a greater portion of their time to research, fieldwork, and writing than would otherwise be possible if they have a heavy teaching load or other employment.

Congratulations, Aaron, Tomo, and Ruffin!