Sachdev Receives 2018 Lars Onsager Prize

November 1, 2017
Photo of Prof. Subir Sachdev

Prof. Subir Sachdev is a recipient of the 2018 Lars Onsager Prize "for his seminal contributions to the theory of quantum phase transitions, quantum magnetism, and fractionalized spin liquids, and for his leadership in the physics community."

The prize was endowed in 1993 by Drs. Russell and Marian Donnelly to recognize outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics, in memory of the unique spirit of Lars Onsager and his passion for analytical results. Lars Onsager was an American theoretical physicist and physical chemist who was awarded the 1968 Nobel Prize in Chemistry