Congratulations to the Harvard Chapter of the SPS!

February 11, 2019
group photo of  Vaibhav, Nisarga, Davis, Abijith, and Elba

left to right: Vaibhav Mohanty, Nisarga Paul, Davis Lazowski, Abijith Krishnan, and Elba Alonso-Monsalve.

The Harvard University chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office for the academic year 2017-2018. This is the highest level of distinction given to fewer than 10 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

SPS is a professional association designed for students, with membership open to anyone interested in physics and related fields, which operates within the American Institute of Physics. SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach, as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.

The SPS chapter at Harvard is advised by Dr. David Morin and led by student officers. The 2018-19 officers are:
Co-Presidents: Elba Alonso-Monsalve & Vaibhav Mohanty
Secretary: Davis Lazowski
Events Coordinator: Abijith Krishnan
Webmaster: Nisarga Paul