Physics Concentrators Inducted to Phi Beta Kappa, Win Goldwater Scholarships

April 30, 2019

Clockwise from top left:Anna Biggs, Abijith Krishnan, Maya Miklos, Kai Trepka, and Dan Eniceicu.

Physics concentrators Anna Biggs and Abijith Krishnan are this year's recepients of the Goldwater Scholarship Awards. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering.

Anna and Abijit are also among the physics concentrator who have been inducted into the Alpha Iota chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest academic honor society. The other inductees are Dan Eniceicu, Maya Miklos, and Kai Trepka.

"Wednesday’s inductees were chosen from a pool of 75 juniors who were nominated to apply last month based on their grade-point averages, according to Logan S. McCarty ’96, the Harvard Phi Beta Kappa chapter secretary. After being notified they are up for consideration, students can accept the nomination by submitting their transcripts and two letters of recommendation, which are then reviewed by faculty and current members of the College’s chapter."The committees look for depth of achievement within the concentration, and also breadth across the liberal arts and sciences," McCarty wrote in an emal."

Continue reading "Phi Beta Kappa Welcomes 24 New Harvard Juniors" by Meena Venkataramanan, The Harvard Crimson, Apr 11, 2019.

Congratulations, Anna, Abijith, Dan,Maya, and Kai!