Golovchenko Wins Fannie Cox Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching

October 20, 2015
Prof. Jene Golovchenko

Prof. Jene Golovchenko is a co-recipient of the Fannie Cox Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching. The prize is awarded annually in recognition of exceptional teaching in introductory science classes. Winners are nominated by faculty at large and selected by a committee composed of past award recipients. The committee makes selections based on the candidate’s ability to inspire students, instill in them a passion for science, and effectively communicate complex ideas.


Third Annual Research Scholar Retreat

October 8, 2015

On September 17, 2015, the Harvard Physics postdoctoral and research scholars gathered for the third annual Research Scholar Retreat in a magnificent rural setting at the historic MIT Endicott House in Dedham, MA. The scholars spoke about their work and learned about their colleagues’ latest research endeavors in the Physics Department. There were opportunities for recreation, games, and casual conversations, a poster session illustrating a diverse range of Harvard Physics projects, and breakout sessions on various pragmatic topics. Highlights of the day included the keynote speaker, Roy J. Glauber, Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics, Emeritus, and two invited speakers, Mr.


Strominger, Vafa Win Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics

October 5, 2015
Professors Vafa (left) and Strominger

Congratulations to Professors Andrew Strominger and Cumrun Vafa for winning the 2016 Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics!

The prize was established in 1959 by the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes to recognize outstanding publications in the field of mathematical physics. It is administered jointly by the American Physical Society and the American Institute of Physics.


Center for Nanoscale Systems receives $5M NSF grant

September 24, 2015

Harvard’s Center for Nanoscale Systems (CNS) has been awarded a $5 million nanotechnology research grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

One of 16 university-based centers to be granted funding through the new National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI) program, CNS will receive $1 million per year over five years.

Read the Press Release.