Winners of 2022 Student Prizes

May 16, 2022
Winners of 2022 Student Prizes

On May 16, 2022, the department celebrated the achievements of our undergraduate and graduate students with awards presentation:

Rhodes Scholarship
An international postgraduate award to study at the University of Oxford
  • Maya Burhanpurkar
  • Elizabeth Guo
  • Samantha O’Sullivan

Hertz Fellowship
Awarded annually to the nation’s most promising graduate students in science and technology 
  • Shuvom Sadhuka
  • Wenjie Gong

Jack T. Sanderson Memorial Prize in Physics
Awarded to graduating seniors with the highest GPA among concentration courses
  • Andrei Radu
  • Allen Richard
  • Gong Wenjie

Carol Davis Prize
Awarded to a Physics concentrator in recognition of their efforts to build a more inclusive and welcoming environment in the Physics Department.

  • Denisse Cordova Carrizales – for creating and leading the Primus group for first generation and low-income students

White Prize
Awarded annually to Teaching Fellows who have demonstrated excellence in the teaching introductory courses in physics.

  • Brendon Bullard
  • Helena Casademunt
  • Maine Christos
  • Erin Crawley
  • Eliot Fenton
  • Soumya Ghosh
  • Richard Huang
  • Madelyn Leembruggen
  • Nathan Leitao
  • Jerry Ling
  • Richard Liu
  • Lauren Niu
  • Paloma Ocola
  • Hyungmok Son
  • Alyson Spitzig
  • Houri Christina Tarazi
  • Noah Toyonaga
  • Ziyan Zhu

Merit Fellowship Nominations
Each year, the department chooses an outstanding experimentalist and theorist for nomination for a Merit Fellowship. The nominees must have passed their qualifying exams and have an approved dissertation prospectus. The winners of the Merit Fellowship are chosen by the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences from among all nominations from all departments.

  • Qianshu Lu – outstanding theorist
  • Nathaniel Vilas – outstanding experimentalist

Gertrude and Maurice Goldhaber Prize
Awarded annually to the outstanding theoretical and experimental graduate students who have passed their qualifying oral examinations in the preceding year.

  • Patrick Ledwith – best theory student
  • Grace Pan – best experimental student

David J. Robbins prize
“The purpose of the prize is to enable recipients to enjoy the cultural activities and recreation that enriched David J. Robbins' short life.”

  • Carissa Cesarotti
  • Erin Crawley

Awarded in recognition of their outstanding work in developing and teaching the new "Physics Foundations" prep course.